Medical device development

Engineering and consulting services for physicians and the medtech industry

Physicians

Physicians

We recognize good ideas and develop them into ready-to-market products with creativity, state-of-the-art technology and Swiss precision.

Our lean organization guarantees you as physician or inventor fast and direct access to the engineer. You do not run any financial risks because Carag provides technical and personnel resources, and finances the development.

Developers

Medtech industry

We assist you in your development projects and support you through the certification process for your new, innovative products.

As an ideal partner, we complement you where needed: Our field-proven specialists offer both advice and practical assistance. They can advance your projects and guide you through the regulatory landscape until market clearance.

Expertise

Medical technology

Clinical studies & In-vivo studies

Electrical & mechanical engineering

Material sciences

Firmware, Software & Apps

Micro-mechanics

Optics

Quality & Regulatory

Approval procedures

Products and projects

We were very pleased to welcome Jérôme Bernhard as a speaker for an academic symposium on "Clinical Studies with Medical Devices". He shared his broad expertise on medical device development and gave an excellent overview going through the different steps from the idea to the product – showing the way through the multitude of standards and regulations to market approval and beyond.

Dr. Fabian Tay, Specialist in Pharmaceutical Medicine, Zurich

In our daily clinical routine, especially in the treatment of small children and infants, we repeatedly encounter situations in which today's possibilities of medical technology are inadequate. An idea and a project sketch quickly emerge from such situations. The CARAG team is able to make a clear estimate of the effort required for product development, regulatory approval and marketing in advance, thus enabling realistic planning. I have experienced this cooperation as very positive and constructive.

PD Dr. Christian Balmer, Pediatric Cardiologist, Zurich

It's been a privilege and pleasure working with Carag. Their attention to details, the eagerness to listen to viewpoints from the medical profession and to identify and analyze any problems, reflects a true commitment to patient safety.

Dr. Stefan Hallhagen, Pediatric Cardiac Surgeon, Gotenburg

The help of CARAG AG in structuring and correctly starting the regulatory affairs aspects of two different projects was invaluable, quick and professional. Thanks to the quick and always straight to the point feedback, the projects are thriving. We would highly recommend having CARAG AG as a partner and we are looking forward to a continued collaboration.

Dr. Samuele Tosatti, CEO, Dübendorf

    Mission statement

    Carag is the global partner for physicians and the medtech industry aiming to develop high quality products.

    Carag invests in innovative ideas, developing them into high-tech products for cutting-edge medical applications.

    Carag is guided in its thinking and actions by the following principles:

    • Openness when dealing with people and ideas
    • Love of medical and technological challenges
    • Hard work and endurance over the long haul

    20 yrs

    Over 20 years of experience in medical device development
    Mdc
    Carag's quality management system complies with the strict requirements of medical device standard EN ISO 13485 and is certified accordingly Certificate >

    Awards

    • 2017 Zuger Innovation Prize (debritom+)
    • Best abstract at TCT 2016
    • Finalist SwissInnovation Challenge 2015
    • 2014 Zuger Innovation Prize (CBSO)

    150+

    Patents and patent applications

    Meet our team

    ML

    Michael Larsson

    Chairman of the board

    BS

    Bettina Schuler

    BSc in Life Science Technologies FH Development engineer +41 41 766 03 09 bettina.schuler@carag.com

    HI

    Dr. Helene Isler

    Dr. sc. nat. Development engineer helene.isler@carag.com

    DA

    Dolores Andermatt

    Accountant +41 41 766 03 05 dolores.andermatt@carag.com

    LC

    Dr. Lukas Christen

    PhD Development engineer +41 41 766 03 88 lukas.christen@carag.com

    JS

    Jane Schranz

    Production +41 41 766 03 91 jane.schranz@carag.com

    NG

    Nico Geiser

    MSc ETH Development engineer +41 41 766 03 89 nico.geiser@carag.com

    MLE

    Marcel Leuthold

    NDS Wirtschaftstechniker FH Production engineer +41 41 766 03 95 marcel.leuthold@carag.com

    MC

    Maurizio Caloro

    System administrator +41 766 03 82 maurizio.caloro@carag.com

    DN

    Daniel Napoletano

    Dipl. El.-Ing. FH, MAS Medizintechik Development engineer +41 41 766 03 80 daniel.napoletano@carag.com

    SC

    Claudio Steiner

    Dipl. Medizintechniker HF Development engineer +41 41 766 03 81 claudio.steiner@carag.com

    CR

    Cyrill Röthlin

    Dipl. Ing. FH, MBA Development engineer +41 41 766 02 09 cyrill.roethlin@carag.com

    JEN

    Jennifer Braten

    Clinical specialist +41 76 298 04 61 jennifer.braten@carag.com

    DS

    Daniel Schenk

    Dipl. Ing. Elektrotechnik TH Teamleader & Development engineer +41 41 766 03 01 daniel.schenk@carag.com

    BW

    Beat Widmer

    Dipl. Ing. HF Development Engineer +41 41 766 03 00 beat.widmer@carag.com

    MF

    Marcel Fenner

    Mechanic +41 41 766 03 07 marcel.fenner@carag.com

    AM

    Andreas Mellmann

    Dipl. Ing. FH Development engineer andreas.mellmann@carag.com

    SW

    Simona Wiedmer

    BSc in Mech. Engineering FH Development Engineer +41 41 766 03 08 simona.wiedmer@carag.com

    DF

    Deborah Frick

    Technical assistant +41 41 766 03 03 deborah.frick@carag.com

    KL

    Kuno Limacher

    Dipl. Ing. ETH Teamleader & Development engineer +41 41 766 03 85 kuno.limacher@carag.com

    FG

    Franziska Gundi

    Head of human resources +41 766 02 05 franziska.gundi@carag.com

    CS

    Carmen Schelbert

    Production +41 41 766 02 02 carmen.schelbert@carag.com

    MB

    Martin Bütler

    Dipl. Techniker HF Kunststofftechnik Development engineer +41 41 766 03 83 martin.buetler@carag.com

    RG

    Roman Good

    BSc in Mech. Engineering FH Development engineer & Head of quality management +41 41 766 02 01 roman.good@carag.com

    JB

    Jérôme Bernhard

    Dipl. Ing. ETH CEO +41 41 766 02 02 jerome.bernhard@carag.com

    LS

    Lucian Schneebeli

    BSc in Elektrotechnik FH Development engineer +41 41 733 03 04 lucian.schneebeli@carag.com